Unboxed Life

Boldly existing outside the box through conscious living and constant learning.

Asking Advice and Future Plans

copyright Tanner Colton 2012, All Rights Reserved

Hello All,

I am addressing this post directly to those who read, whoever you are and for whatever reason you choose to spend your valuable time listening to someone you may not even know. First of all, I am forever grateful for this fact and that you, out there, continue to find value in something that I enjoy doing and from which I garner more value than I could ever offer. Because of you and for you are the words written here created and all I can say is thank you.

For fear of being long-winded and boring I will cut to the point. This will be my last Saturday post. From today forward I am going to be posting only once a week on Wednesdays. This decision has been arrived at after long thought and the not-so-subtle nudge of life. Due to the, admittedly exciting, events and path life has taken of late I feel that the quality of my writing has taken a hit. More than anything else with this project my hope is to provide something of worth, something that can enrich, uplift, inspire, or assist someone out there. Though each on of my post comes directly from my heart and soul, the amount of time I am able to dedicate to writing it has decreased. Thus, I feel as a adherence to my own high standards for my work, that giving myself more time will allow me to create more freely and with more vigor for you, those who bless me with your reading.

I want to be clear, the additions to my life are exciting and positive and part of a life journey that has begun to take form and holds so much promise and adventure. When the time is right and when things are more prepared I will share with you all what these things are. Let me just say that it will be marking off one of the more lofty items from the Day Zero Project.

Enough about me, I want to hear from you. It seems that of late the traffic at Unboxed Life has taken a slight downturn. A part of this I can attribute to my inability to dedicate time to connecting with other bloggers and people who are out in the world trying to do positive, amazing things. But I want to hear from you, the ones who consume that which bears from my mind, what your opinion is on this matter? Do you feel that something has changed or that the writing here has decreased in value in some way? It is hard sometimes to look critically at a situation when you are as close to something as I am to this project so I am counting on you to help me create the best and most impactful writing.

Your insights, patience, and continued support are appreciated more than you know and I hope to find some way, however inadequate, to repay you for this kindness. Yes, I write for me because it feels good and it quenches a thirst found deep inside. But I write, maybe even more so, for you. For the person who relates in some way to something I share. For the person who finds insight or self-knowledge through contemplating a point of topic. For each of you who take time from you busy life to share this space with me, if even for a moment. To you I say, without pretense or expectation, thank you.

4 comments on “Asking Advice and Future Plans

  1. Jennifer Stuart
    August 26, 2012

    I like your idea of writing on just Wednesdays instead of two days a week for all of the reasons that you mentioned. Sometimes doing less of something can make it much more potent.

    In terms of traffic going down, maybe it’s the time of year (East Coasters getting in their last summer rays, other people preparing for dramatic weather or taking their summer vacations) and also your engagement with other blogs if that has in fact been reduced by you spending less time on the computer in general. When I stop engaging with other blogs as much, my traffic goes down as well, and I suppose that makes sense. I recently took a break and it is tricky getting back into the swing of things and catching up on all the blogs I adore.

    I’m glad to hear that a hefty item is getting worked with from the list, woohoo! 🙂 I feel it is great to keep doing what you are doing in a way that feels right. If you lose some folks, fine, more will come. It’ll be an ever-evolving process between you and the readers, and a lovely one!

    • Tanner Colton
      August 27, 2012

      Thank you for the feedback Jennifer, your insights are always appreciated and listened to. I do think that the reduced time and effort in connecting with other bloggers plays a part in my traffic going down and I appreciate you sharing a similar experience. You are so right in that if by my efforts to improve the quality of my work and dedicate some of my time to other great things I lose some folks, other great folks are just around the corner. That feels good to me and I appreciate that idea. Take care Jennifer and as always thank you so much for your engagement.

  2. Angel B
    August 27, 2012

    Hey Tanner! I just wanted to say thank for writing such beautiful, truthful, and inspiring content that cuts right thru and connects with me. I can’t speak for all the readers but I know at least for myself this blog helps everytime I read it! So once again thank you!

    • Tanner Colton
      August 27, 2012

      Thanks AngelB, it feels good to have you say that because that is really what I am trying to do here. If I can navigate my way through all the junk in life and extract something that can make a positive impact in my life and the lives of those whe grace me with their reading then I have accomplished my goal. Thanks for the feedback.

Join the discussion!

Information

This entry was posted on August 26, 2012 by in Personal and tagged , , , , , , .
Logo designed by Trista Veith Photography

Follow it on Twitter

  • Coaching is dedication, coaching is commitment, coaching is the way to a better future 1 year ago

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 168 other followers

