Unboxed Life

Boldly existing outside the box through conscious living and constant learning.

Day Zero Project: The Beginning

Saturday, April 18th 2015. 1001 days from today.

My first thought is wow, this is a lot of stuff. I don’t know if I can do it. All the quintessential reactions of a human mind conditioned to think small and inside the box. Am I sure I will complete all these tasks? I am confident that with positivity and perseverance that the things on this list that are supposed to happen will, and that is all I can ask for. This list and all updates on the progress of my Day Zero Project can be found here, so stop by and follow along.

More than the quest to somehow “accomplish” all the things on this list, what I am hoping to take away from this experience is appreciation, a deeper gratitude for the people in my life and my ability to choose my own path. So many people in the world never get the opportunity to make choices to better themselves and their families and are never empowered to progress. My hope is through many of the things here (and a couple in particular) to try to do what I can to spread the wealth around a little. Whether it happens or not is entirely up to me, and that is kind of scary.

Many of the things on this list pertain to some of the core principles of Unboxed Living: service, open-mindedness, adventure, travel, new experiences. When it fits I will be expanding on how and why I am choosing to do some of the things on this list. You can see that a few of the items are huge undertakings that will require lots of time and a significant commitment from me. I am ready for them. The time to begin creating my legacy is now and I intend to be successful.

What are your thoughts on this list? Anything you think is especially cool? Especially dull? Thinking of creating your own list? Share in the comments and we can take this journey together. Stay active and stay open.

Legacy Work/Volunteerism

Start a non-profit organization (more on this later)

Help create a ChildRescueCenter in Kenya (more on this later)

Help create and maintain a medical clinic in Africa (more on this later)

Not miss a day of posting for Unboxed Life

Have 100 followers on Unboxed Life

Have someone do a guest post on Unboxed Life

Do a guest post on another blog

Volunteer with Washington Trails Association

Inspire someone to make their own Day Zero list

Volunteer on a local organic farm

Volunteer with a non-profit in my neighborhood

Volunteer at a soup kitchen

Creative Projects

Make a photo-essay

Do a photo gallery from one of our trips to Africa and display it publicly

Write 5 handwritten letters

Keep a Day Zero Project photo record and create a photo timeline at the end

Give a handmade birthday gift

Organize my photos

Keep a list of 1 sentence to describe each day for these 1001 days

Fitness/Health

Run a half-marathon to raise money for charity

Do one Tough Mudder each year

Do the Seattle to Portland bike ride

Set an exercise schedule and stick to it

Stop drinking soda

Be able to do 50 Pushups in a row

Be able to do 20 pullups in a row

Be able to run 6 miles regularly

Land a jump on a snowboard

Surf

Relationships

Tell my wife I love her every day

Kiss my wife at the top of the EmpireStateBuilding

Stay in bed all day and watch movies with my wife

Talk to my family more often

Take a dance class with my wife

Take my dog to get a treat at the dog bakery

Give my wife a spontaneous gift

Organize a birthday party for a friend

Help my wife attend Nursing school

Visit my siblings who don’t live nearby at least once not during a holiday

Adventure

Skydive

Bungee Jump

Take a motorcycle camping trip

See a bear in the wild

Take a road trip

See the band Incubus in concert

Do something crazy on my 30th birthday

Drive a motorcycle in a foreign country

Rock climb outside

Sleep overnight in a hammock

See a wild rhino

Go paintballing

Take each of my nephews camping

Climb Mt.Kilimanjaro

Go backpacking once a month for the 4 months of summer/autumn

Live in a new city

Go to the airport without a ticket and take a flight somewhere

Personal Growth

Read a book a month

Take a martial arts class

Complete at least 80 of my 101 things

Complete 3 Day Zero Project items each month

Have a Day Zero Project completion party

See an opera

Don’t go online for 24 hours while at home (does not include camping or being out of the country)

Visit a local organic farm

Plant a tree

Shoot sub-100 on 18 holes of golf

Eat a food I have never eaten once a month

Random Acts of Kindness

Pay for someone’s bill in line behind me

Buy a first class ticket and then trade it with a stranger in coach

Compliment a stranger once a week

Give away something that is of value to me to someone who would enjoy or need it

Organize a coat and blanket drive in the winter and hand them out to the homeless

Leave a 100% tip to a deserving service worker

Leave a positive, uplifting note on the windshield of a random car

Travel

Visit 5 new countries

Take a spur of the moment weekend trip with my wife

VisitGlacierNational Park

Visit Alaska

See the Grand Canyon

Go back to India

Visit New York City

Random Fun

Stay up all night

See Boston Celtics game in the Garden

Restore a motorcycle with my brother

Go swimming at night

Get a mohawk

Swim in the ocean

Valet park my car once

Take a mental health day

Go to a live NFL game

Make a pie from scratch

Take a walk in the rain

Finances

Pay off all my debt (not including student loans)

Save $5000

Be able to live on one income

Donate $10 for every incomplete item on this list to a worthy non-profit at the end of the 1001 days

Set aside $10 each time I complete a task

Pay off my car

Go one whole week without spending any money

Final and most important one

Smile and laugh every day

Photos: taken by Tanner Colton all rights reserved

12 comments on “Day Zero Project: The Beginning

  1. Courtney
    July 21, 2012

    Well, we will DEFINITELY be running Tough Mudder every year. And we can all go paintballing at Ft. Lewis together. AND all three of us are definitely going to Snoqualmie all the time this year. So you can consider three of those mission complete. 😀

    • Tanner Colton
      July 21, 2012

      Hey, thanks Courtney! Those are some of the ones I am looking most forward to so it will be fun the have those experiences. Thanks for reading and for helping me accomplish my goal, see you soon!

      • Courtney
        July 21, 2012

        Seriously this list is really cool. I’d like to try and do some of this with you.

      • Tanner Colton
        July 21, 2012

        Yeah, by all means. You let me know what you want to do and we will get it done! I really do appreciate the support Courtney, it means a lot.

  2. Elizabeth
    July 21, 2012

    Love the list! Like Courtney said we got you on a few. I’ll be creating my own list soon. Unsure if I’ll share it with the world. 🙂

    • Tanner Colton
      July 22, 2012

      Thanks Elizabeth! Yeah I’m gonna need help to do this thing so that is awesome. I would love to take a peak at yours if you do it, I hope you do. Take care Elizabeth.

  3. Scott Miller
    July 23, 2012

    Wow, this list sounds amazing! I bet you can do all of it. We’ll be pulling for you!

    • Tanner Colton
      July 23, 2012

      Wow, I appreciate the confidence Scott, it is a bit more than I have at the moment, hahaha. In all seriousness thank you so much for the support. I am setting out on this journey with the intention of finishing each and every one of them so I am ready! Take care.

  4. Steve
    July 23, 2012

    That’s an awesome list. I think your list is doable, but you’re definitely going to be busy trying to get them all done in time. But even if you don’t and you end up short on a few, you’ll have a wild ride trying to complete them all.

    • Tanner Colton
      July 23, 2012

      You’re telling me! It is a pretty ambitious list but like you said, the journey to completing them all will be an adventure no matter the outcome, and that’s what it’s all about right? Thanks for the encouragement!

  5. Frances antoinette
    July 27, 2012

    Great list going…it is commendable that it included benefiting others, rather than just yourself!

    • Tanner Colton
      July 27, 2012

      Thanks for the comment and the compliment! I really did try and have as much service related items as I could and be able to grow in my knowledge of others. Doing these things wouldn’t be worth much if at the end I, and the world around me, remained the same. Thanks again, take care.

Join the discussion!

Information

This entry was posted on July 20, 2012 by in Day Zero Project and tagged , , , , , , , , .
Logo designed by Trista Veith Photography

Follow it on Twitter

  • Coaching is dedication, coaching is commitment, coaching is the way to a better future 1 year ago

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 168 other followers

