Unboxed Life

Boldly existing outside the box through conscious living and constant learning.

The Day Zero Project

A mind that is stretched by a new experience can never go back to its old dimensions.

-Oliver Wendell Holmes, Jr.

The only source of knowledge is experience.

-Albert Einstein

Do not be too timid and squeamish about your actions. All life is an experience.

-Ralph Waldo Emerson

Everyone, at one time or another has made a New Year’s Resolution or constructed and impromptu bucket list or just written down some things they wanted to do. Sadly, most of us never accomplish the things that spring from out minds and our hearts. I love the idea of a life list, a comprehensive collection of the experiences which one wishes to have in life. What I don’t love is that often times these lists go unrequited.

This is where the Day Zero Project comes in. I came across this idea when I was reading another blog I follow, you can check it out here. The basic idea is that you decide, what are the 101 things that you want to do/see/experience/participate in and accomplish them all over the next 1001 days. What I appreciate most about this idea is that it allows us to see achievement and accomplishment in our goal setting in a shorter period of time. With the seeking of new experiences being one of the core principles of Unboxed Living, I think this project is a perfect fit.

A couple things first off. I am writing this post now to introduce the project. It’s permanent home will be here and once the list is complete you can follow the progress there. This will also be the place where I want you all to share your lists and update me on your progress. You see, this is a cooperative effort, an endeavor that is best consumed in the company of awesome folks. That being said, what I would like to do today is to partially put the construction of my Day Zero Project in the hands of my awesome readers. What I need from you are suggestions on things that should go on the list. They could be things you would like to do or things you would like to see me do. I want my DZP to be the culmination of cooperation of like-minded people.

Once a month I will publish updates on the progression of the pursuit, discussing challenges and what I learned from my new experiences. These updates will be as much for my own accountability as they will be to update all of you. With an ambitious pursuit such as this there can be drift and I want to alleviate as much of that as possible.

I am a firm believer that fluidity in life is necessary for us to fully realize our human potential. Due to that idea I am reserving the right to edit my list as time goes on. If I come across something I feel is valuable and a needed new experience I will add it. If there is something on my list that becomes impossible for some reason, I reserve the right to remove it. I will be judicious with this power and will do everything I can to accomplish this published list.

So I appeal to you dear readers to help me in my pursuit to live fully Unboxed. I am looking forward to hearing your suggestions and getting started on accomplishing my Day Zero Project.

Photos: Taken by Tanner Colton, all rights reserved

6 comments on “The Day Zero Project

  1. Jennifer Stuart
    July 15, 2012

    Cool! I will have to let this marinate in the ol’ noggin for a little while, but what a great idea! On a slightly reversed note, I have enjoyed going through my old journals and finding lists I’ve made in the past of things I want to do- it is always fun to see the ones that have happened- like quitting smoking. This method sounds awesome!

    • Tanner Colton
      July 15, 2012

      Thanks Jennifer, I appreciate the thought. I am compiling my list as we speak and will publish the whole 101 things and begin my 1001 days hopefully this coming week. I am really looking forward to it as an adventure and especially as a way to challenge myself. I do sort of see this as a journal, a way to hold myself accountable for the things I want to do in life instead of resigning to the conventional method and letting them go unfulfilled. On a side note, good for you for quitting smoking, I bet that is hard and not everyone can do that. Thanks for the comment.

  2. The Professor
    July 16, 2012

    Brilliant idea! In addition to the Day Zero list should also be a Stop-Doing list, per Jim Collins (http://www.jimcollins.com/article_topics/articles/best-new-years.html). Great work, and if I have any suggestions for you, I’ll make sure to give you some.

    Mark Blasini

    • Tanner Colton
      July 16, 2012

      Awesome, that is such a good idea. I will check out the Stop-Doing list as well and maybe do them simultaneously as a complete life map and overhaul. Thanks Mark, take care.

  3. kolena
    July 16, 2012

    Awesome Idea I need to start thinking about some suggestions for that list

    • Tanner Colton
      July 16, 2012

      Please do and let me know what you would like to add! Thanks.

Join the discussion!

Logo designed by Trista Veith Photography

Follow it on Twitter

  • Coaching is dedication, coaching is commitment, coaching is the way to a better future 2 years ago

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 169 other followers

