Unboxed Life

Boldly existing outside the box through conscious living and constant learning.

From Strong Bases Spring Powerful Structures

The loftier the building, the deeper must the foundation be laid.” –Thomas Kempis

It seems to me to be a necessity that any lofty undertaking such as the Unboxed Movement should have a solid foundation on which to grow. It seems a useful tool to take stock of the foundations from which I draw the content I share with all of you and to be clear on the motivations behind the work being done here. The purpose of this list is to formulate the roots from which this tree will grow. As you read through any of the content at Unboxed Life use this list of core principles as your guide to understanding and your tool for learning to the utmost of these words possibilities.

You yourself may not agree with each and every one of these principles, which is more than ok. To utilize the content here and to Unbox your own life does not require you to prescribe or adhere to any one of the principles themselves. What they are intended to do is to be a collection of basic fundamentals on which to build not only my work here but the path on which you seek you Unboxing.

The Core Principles of Unboxed Life

  1. We are all born creative, independent, and able to accept our dreams as truth
  2. Service to others in essential in fulfilling our purpose as human beings
  3. The world we live in consists of far more than we experience from day-to-day and we must strive to expand our notion of what our world is
  4. As human beings we are all connected and our individual choices can have far-reaching consequences, good and bad
  5. We do not have to live the life we are told to live
  6. For each situation, challenge, experience, or interaction there exists multiple correct paths to understanding and success
  7. The value of our life is not predicated on the amount of material possessions we can collect but on the positive impact we leave behind once we are gone
  8. Others can be inspired and moved to do incredible things by observing the actions of oneself
  9. Conscious living should permeate our daily activities and guide the decisions we make in our lives
  10. The core of what makes up our spirit is built on the foundation of new experiences
  11. To achieve continual growth and increase self-awareness we must constantly challenge ourselves
  12. Our heart feeds our mind and our mind creates our physical world; the power to create our reality exists within us all
  13. Leaving behind what is familiar is an essential activity if even on a small-scale
  14. Education can come from many varied sources and does not have to adhere to man-made boundaries on what education is
  15. Conformity, passivity, mediocrity, and doubt are the death of Unboxed Living and should be fought with fierce aggression

I hope that these principles, even if incomplete, will give you a more clear idea of why my passion for this work exists and why I want to share it with as many as I can. My promise to you is to draw from these ideas for the content I produce and to maintain a high level of continuity in all my work. My request of you is to help me stick to these principles by letting me know if I begin to stray. From this foundation of strength my hope is that the Unboxed Movement can impact the world in a positive way. Thank you so much for going on this journey with me, I sincerely appreciate it.

Building base photo: eric.j.w

Roots photo: WordsFailMe

Pillar photo: here

10 comments on “From Strong Bases Spring Powerful Structures

  1. Jennifer Stuart
    July 4, 2012

    Number 3…..yess…….I feel like I should write each of these down on pieces of paper, stick them in a box, and then pick one each day to contemplate. I may actually do that.

    • Tanner Colton
      July 4, 2012

      Thank you so much, that means a lot to me. I actually did print the list and I keep it up near my desk when I write. I am glad you can utilize it too. Thanks for the comment!

  2. Steve
    July 5, 2012

    These are all great points. I think number three and number five resonate with me most since they align well my life philosophy. In fact the realization that I didn’t have to live the life I was told to live was a very liberating and uplifting thought. No, I don’t have to do things like everyone else. Once you get over that idea, the world becomes a lot more open.

    • Tanner Colton
      July 5, 2012

      Thanks Steve, and you are right, the world opens up so much when we stop limiting our experience with the shortcomings we create in our minds. I firmly believe that what is physically manifested in our lives is a direct result of what we creat in our minds. Due to this the removal of mental barriers gets rid of many of the physical barriers that hold us back in life. Thanks for the comment Steve, appreciate it so much.

  3. Pingback: What Nature And Thoreau Can Teach Us About Unboxed Living « Unboxed Life

  4. Pingback: Unboxed Life

  5. Pingback: Day Zero Project: The Beginning « Unboxed Life

  6. Pingback: A New Perspective Can Change The World « Unboxed Life

Join the discussion!

Information

This entry was posted on July 4, 2012 by in Unboxing Tools and tagged , , , , , , , , .
Logo designed by Trista Veith Photography

Follow it on Twitter

  • Coaching is dedication, coaching is commitment, coaching is the way to a better future 1 year ago

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 168 other followers

